Dec 12, 2019
The Orphans of Halfpenny Street
Posted by Cathy Sharp

Call the Midwife meets Dr Barnardo s in this gritty drama that will appeal to fans of Nadine Dorries and Kitty Neale.When there is nowhere else to turn, St Saviour s will give them hope It s 1947 and London s East End is still a bombed out landscape Sister Beatrice, who runs the St Saviour s Children s Home, knows that life is still a precarious existence for many childreCall the Midwife meets Dr Barnardo s in this gritty drama that will appeal to fans of Nadine Dorries and Kitty Neale.When there is nowhere else to turn, St Saviour s will give them hope It s 1947 and London s East End is still a bombed out landscape Sister Beatrice, who runs the St Saviour s Children s Home, knows that life is still a precarious existence for many children and it seems that there is no end to the constant stream of waifs and strays who appear at their door looking for a safe haven.One such arrival is Mary Ellen whose mother is gravely ill The one silver lining is her best friend, the tearaway Billy Baggins, also a resident of the home, but Billy seems intent on falling foul of Sister Beatrice s strict regime.New arrival on the staff, Angela, admires Sister Beatrice, but can see that the children need love and kindness as well as a strong hand When an unwelcome face from Billy s past arrives on the scene, things are brought to a head Can the two women work together to keep Billy on the straight and narrow or is it too late

  • Title: The Orphans of Halfpenny Street
  • Author: Cathy Sharp
  • ISBN: null
  • Page: 324
  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • The Orphans of Halfpenny Street Call the Midwife meets Dr Barnardo s in this gritty drama that will appeal to fans of Nadine Dorries and Kitty Neale When there is nowhere else to turn St Saviour s will give them hope It s and

    Ali Bookworm

    This is very much like Call the Midwife in a children's home with nuns, nurses and sick children. It is quite an easy read in style and I did warm to some of the characters especially Mary Ellen and Billy and it is also very sad in parts and made me cry. It is the first in a series and I have the other two to read but thoroughly recommend.


    Reindert Van Zwaal

    A very appealing read, breathing the atmosphere of old London just after WWII. The start is rather slow, introducing all characters in great detail. Thereafter it becomes rather interesting. The children of the orphanage are so likable and the stories around other nurses and staff members are interesting as well. Revealing the division of society in different wealth classes and struggles of making a living for lower class families. All in all, I really enjoyed this book and I am eager to read on [...]


    CatherineMatsubu

    So good I read in one day/ night!Over loaded with repition, which is my favorite buh-a-boo! However the story was well written and accurate historically! Thank youon to the nexr


    Pauline J

    Absolutely 'Five Stars'!!This book was filled with so much love and caring. This author really 'hit the nail on the head'!! So much adventure, suspense, and excitement filled all the pages.


    Jean Hansen

    Great book. There is another book with it and I ordered. Could be good for teens, with the warning that adult issues are discussed.


    Phyllis H. Pajka

    I thought it was a great book. I couldn't put it down and enjoyed every page. I wouldn't mind reading a continuation of this book.


    Elizabeth Dewfall

    Loved the mix of adult and child characters especially Billy and Mary Ellen


    Millie Russom

    Good storyThere were boring parts where I had to just skip over but the rest was a good story. I would recommend reading the next box.


    Karen

    Really loved all the different characters and how their stories came out. Can't wait to read the next book in the series


    Sam Still Reading

    I'm a bit bummed that I spent my hard-earned Dymocks points on this book and that my first book of the year is such a letdown. It sounded like a sweet, easy read set in the East End of London post WWII but for me it was a struggle. I found the child characters to be overly mature for the age in terms of speech and knowledge. The adult characters spoke long, boring speeches that were 'info dumping' and not realistic in terms of speech. I also had an issue with the some of the medical information [...]


    Valmcmahon

    A very good readWonderful book love the author The story kept me picking the book up and not wanting to put it down a recommended read but do not start it if you have something to do hard to out down


    Valerie Knight

    This This book was so very interesting. I had never before given a thought about the children left behind after the war. The devastation in England was so extensive. MS. Sharp gives the characters such intriguing lives.


    Rosemary F. Eichler

    Happiness does happenI would recommend this book as a perfect rainy night, or day, read. While it does become a bit predictable towards the end , the author has done a great job of developing the characters. From what I have read, the infot


    Jane

    What a great book, described on here as Call the Midwife/Dr Barnardos this is a spot on description. Characters that you truly about. Looking forward to more books in this series. A new author that I'm sure with become a firm favourite.


    Katie

    This book took me more than a little while to get into and even then I wasn't sure if I liked it. However the second half I started to really love the two little characters on the cover and because I wanted to know how their lives panned out I finished the book. A surprisingly good read.


    Avril West

    PredictableEnjoyable tale but not exactly gripping. I enjoyed getting to know the various characters who were all quite believable. Don't think I'd recommend it though!


    Amanda

    Full review to follow. I really loved this book and it was very reminiscent of ' The Nightingale' series by Donna Douglas and 'Call The Midwife'.


    MR J P SHOVLIN

    Brilliant read couldn't put it down The only thing I dislike was the book wasn't longer Loved the book and the story line parts pulled at the heart strings


    Wendy Bridge

    ExcellentWaiting for the next one.Gripping saga need to know what happens next.Will the romances blossom, Happy ending please.


    Sue Smith

    An ok read!


    Ema

    Lives at the orphans not bad at all. A lot of foods and clothes. There is no difficulties after the war.


    Marsha Wright

    An enjoyable readA good story but a lot of things left unanswered so I was pleased to see there is a sequel


    Pauline

    i found this book very sad these poor children put into these homes but the story was nice 2 children who lived in the same street both end up being friends together in the same home


    Angela Gibson

    A gripping bookThis book kept me amused on a recent journey, I found it difficult to put this novel down. A believable and sad story.



    • Best Read [Cathy Sharp] ↠ The Orphans of Halfpenny Street || [Music Book] PDF ✓
      324 Cathy Sharp
    • thumbnail Title: Best Read [Cathy Sharp] ↠ The Orphans of Halfpenny Street || [Music Book] PDF ✓
      Posted by:Cathy Sharp
      Published :2019-09-13T03:29:38+00:00